100% Commission Brokerage: What It Means for Agents in 2026

Updated: 38 minutes ago
A 100% commission brokerage pays its agents the entire commission from each deal instead of taking a percentage split. The brokerage still gets paid, just on a different schedule and through a different mechanism, usually a flat fee charged per transaction, an annual fee, or some combination of the two. That one structural shift changes the income math for an agent and changes what an agent should read closely before signing an independent contractor agreement. In 2026, "keep 100%" is one of the loudest phrases in brokerage recruiting, and it is also one of the most widely misunderstood.
What the 100% Actually Refers To
The phrase describes the commission split, not the agent's total cost of doing business. A 100% commission real estate brokerage enables agents to retain the full commission from each transaction rather than splitting it with their broker. On a closed deal, the agent's side of the commission is not divided between agent and broker.
What replaces the split is a fee. Brokerages that run this model typically charge a flat amount per transaction. One published example shows a brokerage advertising per-transaction charges of a few hundred dollars instead of a percentage split.
So the honest version of the promise is this: the agent keeps the commission, and the brokerage charges separately for the transaction, the year, or both. Those two things can both be true at the same time, and a careful agent treats the fee schedule as the real product being sold.
How the Brokerage Still Gets Paid
Named brokerages in this space describe the mechanics in fairly consistent terms. Realty ONE Group positions its model around agents keeping 100% of what they earn. Premier Agent Network describes itself as a virtual brokerage paying 100% commission splits minus a flat fee per transaction, with no franchise fees. HomeSmart markets around the line "100% Commission. Full Support. Proven Experience," along with claims of no hidden costs and no surprise fees.
LoKation publishes a more itemized picture: 100% commission, $499 per transaction on the buy or sell side, $99 per rental transaction, a $99 annual fee, and a compliance fee that varies by state. That breakdown is useful because it shows the three places a 100% model can generate revenue: per deal, per year, and per jurisdiction.
Photo by Kampus Production on Pexels
Published Fee Structures at a Glance
The table below summarizes what the researched brokerage pages actually publish. It is a comparison of how the model is described, not a ranking, and fee schedules change, so confirm current numbers directly with any brokerage before relying on them.
Element | Split model | 100% commission model |
Commission on a closed deal | Divided between agent and broker | Agent retains the full commission |
Brokerage revenue source | Percentage of each commission | Flat fee per transaction, annual fee, or both |
Published transaction fee example | Not applicable in the split structure | $499 per buy or sell side, $99 per rental transaction (LoKation) |
Published annual fee example | Not applicable in the split structure | $99 annual fee (LoKation) |
Compliance fee | Not stated in the research | Varies by state (LoKation) |
Franchise fees | Not stated in the research | Premier Agent Network states no franchise fees |
What the Recruiting Language Does Not Tell You
The claims are easy to repeat and harder to verify. "No hidden costs, no surprise fees" is a marketing statement from HomeSmart, not a standardized disclosure format, and every brokerage writes its own agreement. The practical move is to ask for the complete fee schedule in writing and to match each line item to the paragraph of the agreement that authorizes it.
Pay attention to how compliance fees are handled. A fee that varies by state means your cost can differ from what an agent in another market pays for the same brand. Ask what the number is for your state specifically, and ask who collects it and when.
Because the research does not establish typical percentages, desk costs, or insurance arrangements across the industry, those items should be confirmed brokerage by brokerage rather than assumed from a general rule. If a term is not in the written agreement, treat it as unsettled.
Who Thrives on a 100% Commission Plan
The model rewards agents whose deal volume makes a per-transaction fee look small. An agent closing regularly can do the math quickly: multiply the published transaction fee by annual closings side by side with what a percentage split would have cost. For a high producer, the flat fee structure is often the cheaper of the two by a wide margin.
It also fits agents who already generate their own business. When a brokerage's value proposition is a split rather than lead flow, training, or brand pull, an agent with an established pipeline is effectively paying for something they are not using. Dallas-based Central Metro Realty frames its 100% commission offer around both full and part-time agents keeping the money they earn in their business, which suggests the model is not restricted to full-time producers.
It fits less obviously for agents who need heavy mentorship, structured training, or a steady stream of brokerage-provided leads. Those services cost money to deliver, and a brokerage charging a few hundred dollars per transaction has to source that value somewhere.
Photo by Jakub Zerdzicki on Pexels
Where the Model Shows Up
Geography matters more than the recruiting copy suggests. Central Metro Realty serves Dallas. First United Realty markets its 100% commission plans across a Georgia footprint that includes Fulton, Forsyth, Gwinnett, Cobb, DeKalb, Cherokee, and North Fulton. Realty ONE Group describes agents choosing it coast to coast, and HomeSmart similarly refers to agents from coast to coast. Premier Agent Network operates as an online brokerage, which means there may be no physical office at all.
For California agents, that last point is the one to weigh most heavily. A virtual brokerage can be a strong fit on cost, but it shifts administrative work back to the agent. Transaction coordination, compliance paperwork, and notarization do not disappear because the broker is remote.
A Checklist for Comparing Offers
Run every 100% commission offer through the same set of questions before you compare headline numbers.
What is the exact per-transaction fee, and does it differ between buy side, sell side, and rentals?
Is there an annual fee, and is it charged per agent or per license?
How is the compliance fee calculated in your state, and who charges it?
Are there franchise fees or any other recurring charges named in the agreement?
What does the brokerage actually provide in exchange for the fees, and is that written down?
How are commission disbursements handled after closing, and how quickly?
What happens to the fee if a transaction falls apart before closing?
Photo by Kampus Production on Pexels
Where Transaction Support Fits Into the Plan
A 100% commission structure moves cost around rather than eliminating it. The brokerage collects less per deal, so the agent absorbs more of the back-office workload. That is where third-party support becomes part of the calculation. Stanbridge Broker Services provides transaction coordination for real estate professionals, with residential coordination offered at a flat $299, along with remote online notary services and 1031 exchange support for investors. The company works heavily with California agents across Los Angeles, Orange County, San Diego, Pasadena, Irvine, Riverside, and San Bernardino, and offers Korean and Chinese language support.
For an agent on a flat fee brokerage plan, a flat fee coordination service is predictable in the same way the brokerage is. Both expenses are known before the deal closes, which is the entire appeal of the 100% model in the first place.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does 100% commission mean at a real estate brokerage?
It means the agent keeps the entire commission from a transaction instead of splitting it with the broker. The brokerage is compensated through a different mechanism, typically a flat fee charged per transaction, an annual fee, or both. The commission itself is not reduced by a percentage split, but the agent does still pay the brokerage under the terms of the agreement.
Do 100% commission brokerages charge agents anything?
Yes, in most published examples. LoKation lists a $499 fee per buy or sell transaction, $99 per rental transaction, a $99 annual fee, and a compliance fee that varies by state. Premier Agent Network describes a flat fee per transaction with no franchise fees. The structure varies by brokerage, so the fee schedule is the document that matters most.
Are 100% commission brokerages legitimate?
The model itself is real and used by established companies, including Realty ONE Group, HomeSmart, and Premier Agent Network. Legitimacy comes down to disclosure rather than the label. A brokerage that provides a written fee schedule, explains what each charge covers, and puts the terms in the independent contractor agreement is operating transparently. Anything vague deserves a follow-up question.
Can part-time agents join a 100% commission brokerage?
Some actively recruit them. Central Metro Realty, which serves Dallas, describes its 100% commission brokerage as serving both full and part-time agents, with agents keeping the money they earn in their business. Whether part-time status affects fees, minimum production expectations, or access to brokerage services depends entirely on the individual agreement.
Does a 100% commission brokerage still provide support and training?
Support levels vary widely, so the honest answer is that it depends on the brokerage. HomeSmart markets around the combination of 100% commission with full support and proven experience, and Realty ONE Group lists commission as one of the values it promotes to agents. Ask specifically what training, mentoring, compliance review, and lead generation are included, and get the answer in writing.


Comments